Leaving the tender for a day in Newport
Entering the Cliff Walk, the path between some of Newport’s finest homes and the sea.
Stairs to the sea from the Cliff Walk
Ochre Court, Newport’s second largest mansion. It was built in 1892 and is now owned by Salve Regina University.
This large home, in a state of disrepair, is nestled among the mansions looking oddly out of place
McAuley Hall, originally the Vinland Estate built in 1882, now houses classrooms and offices for Salve Regina University.
Originally a women’s college, many Salve Regina women became engaged under this tree.
A view of the cliffs
View of the Breakers from the seaside
Main gate of the Breakers
Main Entrance to the Breakers; the home was built by a grandson, Cornelius Vanderbilt II, of Cornelius Vanderbilt. Like many wealthy families, the patriarch made a fortune and the descendants spent it.
Tapestry of Alexander the Great, woven in Delft in 1619
The Great Hall
The chandeliers by Baccarat, equipped with a gas backup in case of an electrical power failure
Fountain under the stairs
It’s hard to see but there’s a train next to the left angel in the background. Much of the family fortune came from railroads.
Fireplace in the library
The second floor bedrooms, bathrooms and dressing areas are much plainer than the first floor furnishings
The bathtub was carved from a marble block; the faucets provided both hot and cold fresh and salt water
The view towards the sea from the second floor
Portrait of Mrs. Cornelius Vanderbilt II
The kitchen; the counter is zinc and the mortar is carved marble. The kitchen was located away from the main house due to fear of fires.